New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Simonas
Yearling

United Kingdom
162 Posts

Posted - 04/10/2009 :  09:35:59  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I'm only curious as I've never seen the topic raised inthe short time I've used the forum

I assume to breed you have to keep a male and female togethr, can they remain together in marital bliss for their lives or do they have to be seperated after the deed due to the unnatural living conditions

How bout any other snakes? can they share a viv? IOf not is it due torisk of cross infection or due to likely aggression/territorialness?

Sorry if these are basic questions but I am a snake novice

MissCat
Fully Grown Royal

1971 Posts

Posted - 04/10/2009 :  09:45:00  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I havent bred before but as far as i can tell most people remove the male and female from their vivs/rubs and put them somewhere else until they have locked up then put them back in their vivs.
there are several reasons why a lot of peope dont co habitate their royals.
* You do not know who has pooped
* unless you are confident that you can definately tell them apart, knowing who has fed and who hasnt can be hard.
* Quarantine will still need to be done which will involve having 2 set ups anyway
* there is always the chance that one may eat/attack the other
* they could get stressed out living together.
* 1 gets mites, the other definately will too.
* If you keep a male and female in together you risk them breeding at every given opportunity, this can be very detrimental to the females health, in terms of valuable nutrients being constantly used, and could also result in the female becoming eggbound.

A lot of people DO succesfully cohabitate their royals, however the general concensus appears to be that it it just not worth the risk.