Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

purplepeke
Snake Mite

United Kingdom
8 Posts

Posted - 16/06/2012 :  22:00:47  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi, everyone, hopefully this won't make me a laughing stock, but i am a newbie to royals, only ever had corns previously, so the question i need nelp with is......currently my baby royal has a mat, (statted, obviously), when the time comes for her to upgrade to a viv, i shall use a bulb, as i understand this is better for heavier bodied snakes, if this is the case, can you give me recommendations on bulb types/wattages and i assume a pulse stat is the best, (i have one in for my beardie), and what happens at night, do i just leave it on 24 hours......???? Sorry for all the questions, but want to do well by her. Thanks in advance.

n/a
deleted

7384 Posts

Posted - 16/06/2012 :  22:10:08  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi, no-one's going to laugh at you on this forum, and you're perfectly right - heat bulbs are the right thing for royals.

In your average 3' viv, an infra red bulb of 100w with guard and dimmer stat or a 150w ceramic bulb, again guarded, with dimmer or pulse stat, is fine. Can't use a pulse stat with an IR bulb as it'll flash on and off.

And yes, you leave it on 24/7. I remember setting up my first IR and dimmer in fear and trembling, but once set up they are really simple. The digital thermometers are good - only got one as I use a temp gun (15 snakes lol) but once all is set up, it's a doddle. All the best!

Edited by - n/a on 16/06/2012 22:11:44
Go to Top of Page

purplepeke
Snake Mite

United Kingdom
8 Posts

Posted - 16/06/2012 :  22:22:34  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Thankyou so much!!! I will go with infra red 100w (with guard!) and a dimmer stat, so that i will be able to see her! the corns have LED's in theirs. I have micro climate stats, but is there a brand of infra red bulbs that are better? or is there not much difference in them. Thanks again!!